AP Automation for QuickBooks: 10 Tools Compared, and Where They Stop
QuickBooks Online records bills and, on Plus and Advanced, raises purchase orders, but does not match invoices to them. Ten tools fill the gap. Bill Pay, BILL, Melio and Ramp lead on payments and are US-centred. Lightyear, Zahara, Stampli, Yooz and Tipalti match invoices to purchase orders. When your rules or second system fit none of them, we build it.
Key Takeaway
QuickBooks Online records bills and, on Plus and Advanced, raises purchase orders, but does not match invoices to them. Ten tools fill the gap. Bill Pay, BILL, Melio and Ramp lead on payments and are US-centred. Lightyear, Zahara, Stampli, Yooz and Tipalti match invoices to purchase orders. When your rules or second system fit none of them, we build it.
The short answer: what works with QuickBooks, and what it can't do
QuickBooks accounts payable automation means putting a layer in front of QuickBooks that reads the supplier invoice, matches it to the purchase order and to what was received, routes the exceptions to an approver, and posts the finished bill. QuickBooks itself does the last step well and the others barely at all: Intuit's own help article describes purchase orders as something you "add" to a bill by hand, and purchase orders exist on the Plus and Advanced plans only source.
The ten tools below all post to QuickBooks. They are not the same kind of thing. Four are payment platforms with a bills inbox (QuickBooks Bill Pay, BILL, Melio, Ramp). One is a capture tool (Dext). Five match invoices to purchase orders at line level (Stampli, Yooz, Tipalti, Lightyear, Zahara), and two of those publish a price. Every cell links to the vendor page it was read from, checked on 7 November 2026.
| Tool | QuickBooks Online | QuickBooks Desktop | PO matching | Approvals | Pays suppliers | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks Bill PayIntuit, US only | YesBuilt in | NoOnline product | Not stated | PartlyMulti-step on Elite or Advanced source | YesACH, cheque | $0, $15 or $45 a month, US source |
| BILLbill.com | Yes2-way sync from Team plan source | YesPro, Premier; Enterprise on BILL Enterprise only source | Partly2-way on Corporate; 3-way on Enterprise, Desktop source | YesAll plans | YesACH, cheque, card, wire | $49, $65, $89 per user a month, US source |
| Melio | YesFrom Core plan source | PartlyHigher plans; pages disagree which source | Not stated | YesFrom Core | YesACH, card, cheque, wire | $0, $25, $55, $80 a month, US source |
| Ramp | YesUS or Canadian company only source | PartlyListed; depth not stated | PartlyNeeds Ramp Plus source | Yes | YesFree wires, same-day ACH | $0, or $15 per user plus platform fee source |
| Dext | Yes | Not stated | PartlyManual, one invoice to one PO source | YesWith Payments add-on | YesUK Faster Payments add-on | £24.17 a month annual, UK source |
| Stampli | YesAll four QBO plans source | YesAll versions, via installed Bridge source | PartlySemi-automated 2 and 3-way included source | Yes | YesDirect Pay | NoQuote only |
| Yooz | YesAPI, two-way source | YesConnector source | Yes2 and 3-way, line level source | Yes | Yes | From £129 a month, UK; US not published source |
| Tipalti | YesEssentials, Plus, Advanced; not Simple Start source | Not stated | Yes2 and 3-way with tolerances source | Yes | YesGlobal | From $99 a month plus transaction fees source |
| Lightyear | YesAPI source | Partly"Online or Desktop"; method not stated | Yes3-way against PO and GRN, line level source | YesMulti-tier, mobile | Not stated | $199 or $319 a month by credits, US source |
| AvidXchange | YesGL codes, vendors, invoices, payments source | YesDesktop and Enterprise, with POs and receipts source | Partly2 and 3-way on Desktop; not stated for QBO | Yes | YesAvidPay network | NoNot published |
| Zahara | Yes"Full sync" source | Not stated | YesPO and delivery note source | YesMulti-step rules | YesIncl. international | £159, £289, £499 a month, UK source |
| A custom buildFintask, beside QuickBooks | YesPosts approved bills via the API | YesDesktop or Enterprise | YesYour rules, tolerances and receipts | YesYour chain | NoQuickBooks or your bank stays the payer | Quoted per project; see the ROI calculator |
Vendor sites checked 7 November 2026. "Not stated" means the vendor's page does not say, which is different from "No". Prices are list prices on the country page named; promotions excluded. Full sourcing rule on the compare pages.
Outgrown what QuickBooks does with bills?
If you need purchase order matching, goods receipts or posting to a second system, tell us your volume and we will say which tool fits or what a build costs.
“Reza had some great suggestions and we ended up with a plan much better than what I was thinking of.”
What QuickBooks does by itself
Before adding a tool, it is worth knowing where QuickBooks Online accounts payable actually stops, because the gap is narrower for some teams than the vendors suggest.
- Bills: every plan records supplier bills and tracks what is due. Intuit's Irish plan list calls this "Manage bills" source.
- Purchase orders: Plus and Advanced only. Once a supplier accepts a PO, "you can add it to an expense or bill". That is a manual link, not a match: QuickBooks does not compare quantities or prices between the two documents, and it has no goods receipt to compare against source.
- Bill Pay (US): three tiers. Basic is included with any plan and pays by ACH or posted cheque with a single payment-release approver. Premium is $15 a month. Elite is $45 a month, included with QuickBooks Online Advanced, and is the tier with "custom user roles and multi-step bill approval workflows". Cheques cost $1.50 each on every tier source source.
- UK and Ireland: the UK plan list includes "Pay Bills" directly from QuickBooks; the Irish list shows "Manage bills" only, with three plans at €23, €34 and €52 a month and no Advanced plan on the comparison page source source. An Irish team wanting approval workflows or supplier payments from QuickBooks therefore needs one of the tools below.
- Desktop: Intuit stopped selling new Pro Plus, Premier Plus and Mac Plus subscriptions on 30 September 2024, US only. Enterprise is still sold to new customers, in Silver, Gold, Platinum and Diamond editions scaling to 40 users, and the 2023 editions were discontinued on 31 May 2026 source source. Desktop Enterprise has item receipts, which is why several vendors offer three-way matching on Desktop and not on Online.
So the honest baseline is: if you pay a few dozen bills a month, have no purchase orders and are in the US, Bill Pay on QuickBooks may already be enough. Everyone else is choosing a layer.
The ten tools, one by one
Grouped by what they are for. Payments-first tools make paying bills cheaper and add an inbox; capture-first tools read documents; matching-first tools compare the invoice to the order and the delivery. The prices are the vendor's list prices on the date checked, and the links go to the page they were read on.
BILL (bill.com)
A per-user AP and AR platform with its own payment network. Essentials is $49 per user a month, Team $65, Corporate $89, Enterprise on quote, all US pricing, plus per-payment fees of $0.59 for ACH and $1.99 for a cheque source. Invoices arrive by email or drag-and-drop, and the Team plan and above add AI multi-line coding source.
QuickBooks: automatic two-way sync with Online, Pro and Premier from the Team plan; the Essentials plan is CSV import and export only. QuickBooks Enterprise syncs only on BILL's custom-priced Enterprise plan source. Matching: two-way is included on Corporate and an add-on below it; "automatic 2 and 3-way matching" with PO sync is an Enterprise feature, and BILL's QuickBooks page places its three-way matching "in QuickBooks Desktop" source. Limits: per-user pricing plus per-transaction fees on every plan, and the footnote "Features vary by accounting software". The fee schedule covers US, Canada and UK for receiving payments; running AP from Ireland is not stated.
Melio
A bill-payment platform with a free tier. Go is $0 for one user with five free ACH payments a month; Core is $25 a month plus $10 per extra user; Boost is $55; Unlimited is $80 with unlimited users and ACH. Cheques are $1.50, cards 2.9%, US pricing source. All plans have AI bill capture and a bills inbox; approvals by amount, vendor and in steps start at Core.
QuickBooks: two-way sync of bills with line items, class and location, vendors, payments and credits, from Core; the free plan allows ten syncs source. Desktop sync is on a higher plan, and Melio's two pages disagree on which: the pricing table lists it under Boost, the integration FAQ says "only available on the Unlimited plan" source. Matching: no purchase order matching is stated anywhere on the pricing or QuickBooks pages. Limits: US-centred features (ACH, W-9, 1099, paper cheques); availability outside the US is not stated.
Ramp
A corporate card and spend platform whose Bill Pay module does AP. The base plan is free; Ramp Plus is $15 per user a month plus a platform fee based on team size source. Invoices uploaded to Bill Pay are read by Ramp's own AI source.
QuickBooks: real-time two-way sync of accounting fields, transactions, purchase orders, vendor bills, bill payments and credits, but "requires an active QuickBooks Online account for a US or CA Company" source. QuickBooks Desktop appears as a tile; the depth is not stated. Matching: two-way against imported POs needs Ramp Plus; three-way against imported POs needs Plus, and against POs created in Ramp needs the Procurement add-on as well source. Item receipts for three-way are described from NetSuite, not from QuickBooks. Limits: the US or Canada rule rules it out for Irish and UK companies.
Dext
Capture first: photograph, email or upload a document and Dext extracts it and publishes to the ledger. The UK business plan is £24.17 a month billed annually (£290 a year) or £30 monthly, for 250 documents and five users; line-item extraction is a separate add-on from £16.50 a month source. Dext Payments adds approvals and UK Faster Payments at 25p each plus a £15 connection fee, and supports Xero and QuickBooks Online only source.
QuickBooks: publishes to Online and closes the PO there. Matching: "Purchase Order Match lets you link a costs item to an existing purchase order" chosen from a list; you cannot match several POs to one invoice, open POs sync every 48 hours and only those under six months old appear source. That is a manual link, not the automated two- or three-way match the term usually means. Limits: no Desktop support stated; a dext.com/ie pricing page returned a 404 when checked, so Irish pricing is not stated.
Stampli
An AP platform built around the invoice, with an AI assistant that codes and routes. Pricing is quote only, with unlimited entities and vendors source. Stampli's own words on fit: "for AP teams that want the efficiency of automation but don't want to rework their ERP" source.
QuickBooks: an Intuit Gold App Partner with real-time sync of open POs and line items on Simple Start, Essentials, Plus and Advanced source. Desktop is supported in all versions through Stampli Bridge, an executable installed beside QuickBooks, with master data importing every two hours source. Matching: "Semi-automated 2-3 way matching included", with fully automated matching by Stampli Cognitive AI as a separate offering source. Limits: no published price, and Desktop sync is batch rather than live. Stampli is also in our mid-market AP comparison against Onphase, AP Express and Xledger.
Yooz
Cloud AP and purchase-to-pay automation for small and mid-sized businesses, with offices in Texas and London. The UK Business Edition starts from £129 a month by document volume with unlimited users; the US Gold Edition is volume-priced with no figure published source source.
QuickBooks: API-based two-way integration with QuickBooks Online covering chart of accounts, classes, customers, departments, items, tax profiles and vendors, with the invoice image embedded in QuickBooks; a connector for Desktop source. Matching: "2- and 3-way PO matching at line-level detail" with goods receipts source. Limits: the matching language is generic; the QuickBooks page does not say how three-way matching works when QuickBooks Online has no goods receipt record.
Tipalti
Global payables automation aimed at mid-market teams: supplier onboarding, invoice processing, PO matching and mass payments. Plans start at $99 a month with unlimited users, plus transaction pricing for payments, and "more complex environments may require additional professional services" source.
QuickBooks: real-time sync with Essentials, Plus and Advanced; Simple Start is not supported, and Desktop is not listed source. Matching: "two-way and three-way PO matching for headers and line levels, in addition to configurable tolerance matching" source. That tolerance line is rare on this list and worth noting. Limits: per-payment fees on top of the platform fee, and the product is sized for teams paying many suppliers in many countries, not a ten-invoice-a-week business.
Lightyear
AP automation priced by document credits rather than users. On the USA pricing tab, Essentials is $199 a month for 125 credits and Standard $319 for 250, on a 30-day rolling contract with unlimited users; one invoice, one statement or one purchase order each cost a credit, and "an additional monthly fee may apply" for some accounting integrations source. Pricing tabs exist for the UK, Australia, Canada, New Zealand and South Africa.
QuickBooks: connects to Online through the API, syncing suppliers, tax rates and tracking categories, and exports line-item detail; the page says it works "whether you're on QuickBooks Online or Desktop" without stating how Desktop connects source. Matching: line-level three-way matching against the PO and the goods received note, with discrepancies flagged, and the ability to ingest POs raised elsewhere source. Limits: no supplier payment execution is stated, and raising POs in Lightyear uses credits.
AvidXchange
Mid-market AP and payment automation with its own payment network (Mastercard, AvidPay Direct, direct deposit and AvidPay Check), US-based, pricing not published, unlimited users and approvers source.
QuickBooks: the Online integration syncs GL codes, vendor lists, invoices and payments. The Desktop and Enterprise integration goes further, "including purchase orders and material receipts", which is why AvidXchange offers "configurable two- and three-way PO matching" to Desktop users and does not state it for Online source source. Limits: implementation "in as little as 45 days", no published price, and non-US availability not stated.
Zahara
UK-built purchase-to-pay: requisitions, POs, AI invoice reading to line level, matching, approvals, budgets and supplier payments. Teams is £159 a month (10 users, 120 orders, 250 invoices), Business £289 (18 users, 250 orders, 500 invoices), Enterprise £499 (35 users, 800 orders, 1,200 invoices), all excluding VAT, with extra users at £12 each source.
QuickBooks: a "Full Sync" cloud integration with QuickBooks Online; Desktop is not named source. Matching: "matches supplier invoices against purchase orders and delivery notes", so three-way, with the delivery recorded in Zahara source. Limits: hard caps on orders, invoices and users per plan, and read-only approvers count towards the user limit.
Which kind of tool you actually need
Most buying mistakes here come from comparing a payments tool with a matching tool on price. Decide the category first.
QuickBooks Bill Pay, Melio or Ramp if you are in the US, Dext Payments if you are in the UK. No purchase orders, approvals by amount, cheaper payments. BILL if you want AI coding and are happy paying per user.
Dext for the documents, at £24.17 a month. Accept that its PO match is a manual link, and that line items cost extra.
Lightyear or Zahara if you want a published price and work in the UK, Ireland or Australasia. Stampli, Yooz or Tipalti if you are mid-market and will take a quote. AvidXchange if you are on Desktop Enterprise in the US.
Invoices that span several POs, tolerances by supplier, a goods receipt that lives in a warehouse or job system rather than QuickBooks, or a bill that has to post to QuickBooks and to a second system. No tool above describes this. That is a build.
Where the tools stop
Reading all ten vendor sites, the same gaps appear, and they match the enquiries that reach us.
- QuickBooks Online has no goods receipt. Three-way matching needs a record of what arrived. Desktop Enterprise has item receipts, which is why BILL and AvidXchange place their three-way match there. On Online, the receipt has to come from somewhere else: the tool's own record (Zahara, Lightyear), or a warehouse or job-costing system the tool has never heard of.
- Matching is one invoice to one PO. Dext says so outright; Ramp's rule for a bill against several POs is to match each line by hand. Suppliers who send one consolidated invoice for fifty deliveries break this, and in three-way matching that is the normal case, not the edge.
- Tolerances are rare. Only Tipalti states configurable tolerance matching on its QuickBooks page. A 2% price variance on a 49-line invoice should post 49 lines and hold one. Most tools hold the invoice.
- Posting to a second system is never stated. None of the ten says anything about posting one approved invoice to QuickBooks and to an operational system at the same time. A fabricator running a production ERP alongside QuickBooks, or a distributor with stock in a separate inventory system, keys the second entry by hand.
- Geography. Bill Pay, Melio and Ramp are US products; Ramp requires a US or Canadian company outright. For an Irish or UK QuickBooks user the realistic list is Dext, Lightyear, Zahara, Yooz and Stampli.
Not sure which of these fits your QuickBooks setup?
Tell us your plan, your monthly invoice count and whether you raise purchase orders. In 30 minutes a Chartered Accountant will say which tool fits, or whether none does.
What a custom build looks like beside QuickBooks
When the gaps above are your daily work, we build the layer instead of bending a tool. The shape is always the same; the rules are yours.
- Capture. Invoices arrive in a dedicated inbox or portal. AI extraction reads header and lines, and every extraction is reconciled against the invoice's own printed totals before anything proceeds. In the production build this pattern comes from, that gate caught the AI reading an extended total as a unit price, a $23,908 error on a $4,391 invoice, in its first run.
- Match against live data. The supplier and PO are resolved against QuickBooks through the API, and against the second system if there is one: a goods receipt in a warehouse system, a job in a job-costing system, a works order in a production ERP. Line-by-line, with per-supplier SKU and unit-of-measure rules, and tolerances you set.
- Hold only the exception. The 49 clean lines post; the one over tolerance waits for a person, with the invoice, the PO and the receipt side by side and the reason recorded.
- Post once, to each system. The approved bill is written to QuickBooks as a bill linked to its PO, and the same approved data posts to the second ledger or ERP. Nothing is written that a person has not seen, and QuickBooks stays the system of record.
Cost shape is different from the table: a one-off build and small hosting costs rather than a per-user fee forever. The automation ROI calculator puts a number on that for your invoice volume, and the cost per invoice calculator shows what the manual process costs today. The broader method is in the accounts payable automation guide, and the service page is accounts payable automation.
How to choose, in five questions
- Which QuickBooks? Online Simple Start rules out Tipalti; Desktop rules out Zahara and Dext as stated; Enterprise on BILL needs its Enterprise plan.
- Where is the company? Outside the US and Canada, drop Bill Pay, Melio and Ramp.
- Do you raise purchase orders, and where do goods receipts live? No POs: a payments tool is enough. POs in QuickBooks and receipts nowhere: Lightyear or Zahara record the receipt. Receipts in another system: see the section above.
- How many invoices a month? Under about 100, Dext or a payments tool; 100 to 1,000, the published-price matching tools; above that, or with multi-entity, the quote-based platforms or a build.
- Does one invoice ever post to two places? If yes, no tool on this page claims to do it.
Related reading: the same comparison for Sage 50, Sage 200 and Sage Intacct, NetSuite and SAP and Oracle, and the market-wide best AP automation software roundup. Our other QuickBooks work, on sales channels and Stripe, is on the QuickBooks integrations page.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does QuickBooks Online do three-way matching?
No. QuickBooks Online raises purchase orders on Plus and Advanced and lets you add a PO to a bill by hand. It does not compare quantities or prices, and it has no goods receipt record. Three-way matching needs an AP tool or a custom layer.
Does QuickBooks Bill Pay work in Ireland or the UK?
Bill Pay is on Intuit's US site only. The UK plan list includes a Pay Bills feature; the Irish plan list shows Manage bills only, with three plans at €23, €34 and €52 a month. Irish teams wanting approvals or supplier payments need a separate tool.
Which AP automation tools work with QuickBooks Desktop?
Stampli (all versions via an installed connector), Yooz, AvidXchange (Desktop and Enterprise, with POs and receipts), BILL (Pro and Premier from its Team plan, Enterprise on its Enterprise plan) and Melio on its higher plans. Lightyear says Online or Desktop. Tipalti, Zahara and Dext name Online only.
What is the cheapest AP automation for QuickBooks?
Melio's Go plan is free for one user and five ACH payments a month, US only. Dext is £24.17 a month in the UK for capture. For purchase order matching, Lightyear starts at $199 a month and Zahara at £159, both with no per-user fee.
Does Dext match invoices to purchase orders?
Only by hand. Dext's Purchase Order Match links one cost item to one open QuickBooks Online or Xero PO chosen from a list. It cannot match several POs to one invoice, syncs open POs every 48 hours and shows POs under six months old.
Can one supplier invoice be posted to QuickBooks and a second system at the same time?
None of the ten vendors on this page states it. It is the most common reason a QuickBooks user asks us for a build: match against the operational system, hold exceptions for a person, then post the approved bill to QuickBooks and the matching entry to the other system.
Work out your own numbers
AP cost-per-invoice calculator
Work out what each supplier invoice costs you to process, and the annual gap to best-in-class.
Open the calculatorFree calculator · no email neededAutomation ROI calculator
Pick how fast you want automation to pay for itself and see the budget your hours saved will cover.
Open the calculatorAP automation that keeps QuickBooks as the ledger
Capture, matching and approvals built around QuickBooks Online or Desktop, posting approved bills only. Book a call to scope it with your numbers.
“Reza had some great suggestions and we ended up with a plan much better than what I was thinking of.”

Written by Reza Shahrokhi ACA
Chartered Accountant (Chartered Accountants Ireland) • Founder of FinTask • 8+ years in finance & automation
Reza is a Chartered Accountant and the founder of FinTask. He specialises in helping growing businesses automate accounts payable, invoice processing, and financial reconciliation using AI-powered tools integrated with Xero and QuickBooks.
More about the authorRelated Articles
Best AP Automation Software in 2026: 12 Tools Compared, and When None Fit
There is no best AP automation software, only the best fit for your ERP, country and matching rules. Of twelve leading tools, four publish a price, five state multi-country payments and two name Ireland. Enterprise suites run across several ERPs; mid-market platforms sit beside one; payments-led tools are US-centred. When none fit your receipts or second system, we build.
17 min readAP AutomationAP Automation for Sage 50, Sage 200 and Sage Intacct
Which Sage you run decides the answer. Sage Intacct has AI capture, PO matching and approvals built in, and the big AP platforms connect. Sage 200 has invoice and PO authorisation natively plus a few UK add-ons. Sage 50 now captures invoices itself but has no approval workflow, and most tools reach it by CSV or a connector. Where none fits, we build.
15 min readAP AutomationNetSuite AP Automation and 3-Way Match: 9 Tools Compared
NetSuite matches vendor bills to purchase orders and item receipts through a SuiteApp workflow, with tolerances set per item and vendor, and Oracle's docs say partially received items are not supported. Bill Capture adds AI intake as a paid module. Nine tools go further; most are US-centred and only Tipalti publishes a price. Where none fits, we build.
15 min readPurchase Order AutomationThree-Way Matching in Accounts Payable: The Complete Guide
Three-way matching is the AP control that checks a supplier invoice against the purchase order and the goods receipt note, releasing payment only when all three agree on quantities, prices and supplier details. Use it for physical goods and inventory; two-way matching is enough for services, software and recurring payments. Software can automate it.
7 min read