Comparison

A2X vs Synder vs DualEntry vs Link My Books vs Connex: getting Shopify and Amazon into QuickBooks or Xero

Four of these tools get marketplace and store sales into QuickBooks Online or Xero. One of them replaces QuickBooks and Xero entirely. The real split is how they post: one summary per payout that matches the bank deposit, or one record per order. Everything below was read from the vendors' own sites and is linked.

Vendor sites last checked:

Vendor pages cited: 37

The short answers

The questions buyers actually ask, answered from what each vendor publishes on its own site. Every claim is linked in the table and cards below.

A2X vs Synder for Shopify: which should I use?

They post differently, and that decides it. A2X creates one summarised entry per Shopify payout so each bank deposit matches one line in QuickBooks Online or Xero; it explicitly does not post one entry per order. Synder offers both modes, hourly per-transaction sync (one sales receipt or invoice per order) or a summary per day, per payout or per month. Synder's per-payout summary mode works with QuickBooks Online, Sage Intacct and NetSuite but not Xero. If you want clean deposit-level books in Xero, A2X. If you need per-order detail or sell through many platforms, Synder. A2X for Shopify starts at $29 a month for 200 orders; Synder Basic is $65 a month billed monthly or $52 billed yearly for 500 transactions.

Does DualEntry automatically sync transactions from Shopify, Stripe and Square into QuickBooks or Xero?

No. DualEntry is an AI-native ERP that replaces QuickBooks or Xero rather than feeding them; its own pages describe a CPA-led migration that moves your chart of accounts and history off Xero or QuickBooks. On its integrations page it documents a Stripe integration, but no Shopify integration is listed, and its Square and PayPal pages do not list any synced data types. Pricing is quote-only and there is no free trial. If you want to keep QuickBooks or Xero, DualEntry is the wrong category of product.

How does DualEntry compare to A2X for automating e-commerce accounting for Shopify and Amazon?

They are not comparable products. A2X is a connector that summarises Shopify and Amazon payouts into an existing ledger in QuickBooks Online, Xero, Sage or NetSuite, from $29 a month. DualEntry is a general ledger aimed at mid-market and multi-entity companies, with implementation included, a 4 to 6 week go-live, and no Shopify or Amazon integration listed on its site. Choosing between them is really choosing whether to keep your accounting system.

Is Connex worth $239 a month for high-volume Shopify to QuickBooks sync compared to A2X and Link My Books?

Connex does not have a $239 plan. Its published tiers are Gold at $4,788 a year ($399 a month equivalent, 2 marketplaces, 24,000 orders a year), Platinum at $5,988 a year ($499 a month, 3 marketplaces, 36,000 orders), and custom Enterprise, each with a one-time guided implementation from $900, billed annually only. What that buys is more than accounting sync: per-order real-time posting, two-way inventory, customers and products, ShipStation and ERP connections. A2X and Link My Books do accounting summaries only and cost a fraction: A2X Premium 20k is $289 a month for 20,000 Shopify orders; Link My Books' calculator prices one channel at 20,001 to 25,000 orders at $239 a month, which is probably where the figure comes from. If you only need the books to reconcile, Connex is paying for workflow you may not use.

A2X vs Link My Books: what is the difference?

Both post one summary per payout that matches the bank deposit, and both handle Amazon, Shopify, eBay, Etsy and Walmart. The differences are scope and tax. A2X also posts to Sage and NetSuite and handles PayPal and TikTok Shop as channels; Link My Books posts only to Xero and QuickBooks Online but is UK-built with a guided VAT wizard, HMRC VAT files attached to each entry, and Square as a channel. Link My Books says plainly it is not a multi-country EU VAT engine and does not split OSS per country; A2X groups transactions by registered country, other EU and exports for OSS reporting. Entry prices: A2X Mini $29 a month for 200 orders; Link My Books from £15 or $20 a month for one channel at up to 15 orders.

Which of these tools match payouts to bank deposits automatically?

All four connectors do, by design. A2X's Shopify Payments summaries match the deposit directly, with a clearing account only for third-party gateways like Stripe, PayPal or Klarna. Link My Books advertises automatic bank deposit matching in Xero and QuickBooks. Synder records activity in a clearing account and posts a matching transfer when the payout lands. Connex matches deposits for Shopify, Amazon, Stripe and Square and, in summary-payout mode, makes the sales receipt total equal the payout exactly.

Side by side

Each answer links to the vendor page it was read from. “Not stated” means we could not find it on the vendor's own site, which is not the same as “no”.

A2X vs Synder vs DualEntry vs Link My Books vs Connex for Shopify and Amazon accounting: capabilities as published by each vendor, checked 1 October 2026
CapabilityA2XSynderDualEntryLink My BooksConnex
Summary entry per payout or settlementYesPer payout or settlementYesDaily, per payout, monthlyNoIt is the ledgerYesOne summary per payoutPartlyShopify, Stripe, Square only
One record per orderNoYesHourly syncNoIt is the ledgerNoYesReal time
ShopifyYesYesNot statedNot listed; integration page 404YesYes
AmazonYesYesNot statedNot listedYesYesUS, EU, CA, UK, MX
Stripe as a channelPartlyAs a Shopify gateway via clearing accountYesYesInto DualEntry's own ledgerPartlyAs a Shopify gatewayYes
SquareNot statedNot listed as a channelYesNot statedPage lists no synced dataYesPOS and onlineYes
eBay and EtsyYesYesNot statedNot listedYesYesVia ShipStation
Posts to QuickBooks OnlineYesYesNoReplaces itYesYesPlus Desktop and Enterprise
Posts to XeroYesYesNot in per-payout modeNoReplaces itYesExcept CashbookYes
Posts to Sage or NetSuiteYesBothYesSage Intacct and NetSuite, Pro and upNoMigration sourcesNoYesERP tier
Matches payouts to bank depositsYesYesClearing account plus transferYesWithin its own ledgerYesYesShopify, Amazon, Stripe, Square
COGSYesBasic plan and upYesLimited on BasicNot statedYesYes
Inventory syncNoPartlyInventory items from Essential upNot statedNoAccounting onlyYesTwo-way
UK and EU VAT handlingYesGroups by country, other EU, exports for OSSPartlyUK fee VAT split; tax codes for non-USNot statedYesUK wizard; not per-country OSSYesCountry and province tax mapping
Published pricingYesYesPro and up by quoteNoYesVia calculatorYesAnnual tiers; Enterprise custom
Free trialYesPost three settlements freeYes15 days, no cardNoSandbox insteadYes14 days, no cardPartly14 days stated on Xero page

Each tool, in brief

A2X

What it does
Turns Amazon, Shopify, eBay, Etsy, Walmart, PayPal and TikTok Shop payout data into one summarised entry per payout in QuickBooks Online, Xero, Sage or NetSuite, so each deposit reconciles to one line. source
Price
Shopify from $29 a month (Mini, 200 orders, no COGS) through $45, $79, $115, $159, $229 and $289 for 20,000 orders; Amazon from $59 for 1,000 orders. Monthly, USD, per channel. Custom above 250,000 orders. source
Fit
Sellers and accounting practices that want deposit-level books rather than order-level detail; scales to over a million orders a month. source
Limits
  • Never posts individual orders; if you need per-customer invoices in the ledger this is the wrong tool. source
  • Stripe, PayPal and Klarna on Shopify go through a clearing account; Square is not listed as a channel. source
  • Does not manage inventory; COGS is not available on the Mini plan. source

Synder

What it does
Syncs sales, fees, refunds and taxes from 30+ platforms into QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop, Xero, Sage Intacct or NetSuite, either as individual transactions or as a daily, monthly or per-payout summary. source
Price
Basic $65 a month billed monthly or $52 billed yearly (500 transactions, 2 integrations); Essential $129 or $103 (1,000); Pro from $299 or $240 (10,000); Pro Max from $599 or $480 (20,000); Premium by quote. Pro and above are "talk to sales" and volume-tailored. source
Fit
Retail, e-commerce and SaaS businesses selling through several platforms and payment processors, and accountants managing many clients. source
Limits
  • Per-payout summary mode covers Amazon, eBay, Shopify and Stripe only, and posts to QuickBooks Online, Sage Intacct and NetSuite but not Xero. source
  • Basic plan imports once a day, charges for history, cannot create inventory-type items, and support investigations can queue for over two weeks. source
  • Walmart, Magento, Clover and TikTok are premium integrations on higher tiers; purchases are final and non-refundable. source

DualEntry

What it does
An AI-native ERP and general ledger for mid-market, multi-entity companies that migrates you off QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite. It is a replacement for the accounting system, not a connector into it. source
Price
Not published. Three tiers, all by demo and quote, sized to entities and users. Implementation included; integrations may carry an additional licence fee. No free trial. source
Fit
Mid-market and pre-IPO finance teams managing several entities. DualEntry's own comparison page says QuickBooks is tough to beat for single-entity small businesses. source
Limits
  • No Shopify integration is listed; the Shopify integration URL returns a 404 and Shopify does not appear on the integrations page. source
  • Only Stripe is documented with synced data types. The Square and PayPal integration pages list none. source
  • Integrations may add licence fees and delay implementation by up to four weeks; go-live is 4 to 6 weeks. source

Connex

What it does
Order, customer, product, inventory and accounting workflow integrator (formerly Connex for QuickBooks) that connects stores, marketplaces, ShipStation and QuickBooks, Xero, Sage Intacct or NetSuite, with guided implementation. source
Price
Gold $4,788 a year ($399 a month equivalent, 2 marketplaces, 24,000 orders a year, $0.10 per extra order); Platinum $5,988 a year ($499 a month, 3 marketplaces, 36,000 orders); Enterprise custom. One-time guided implementation from $900. Billed annually only; no plan at $239 a month. source
Fit
Multi-channel and wholesale sellers on QuickBooks who have outgrown basic connectors. Connex's own Amazon page says that if your setup is simple you may not need it. source
Limits
  • Summary-payout mode (one sales receipt per payout) is available for Shopify, Stripe and Square only; everything else syncs per order. Connex recommends per-order below about 20 sales a day and summary above 50. source
  • Annual contract only; guided implementation fees are non-refundable, with a 30-day refund window on the subscription. source
  • PayPal is not listed among payment processors; only sales appearing on a payout sync in summary mode. source

Our read

If the goal is books that reconcile to the bank with the least noise, the summary-per-payout tools win: A2X or Link My Books. Pick A2X if you post to Sage or NetSuite, sell through PayPal or TikTok Shop as channels, or need OSS-style country grouping. Pick Link My Books if you are a UK or Irish seller on Xero or QuickBooks Online and want the VAT wizard, Square support and a lower entry price.

Synder is the one to choose when you need per-order records in the ledger, sell through many processors, or want one tool across QuickBooks, Xero, Sage Intacct and NetSuite. Check that the mode you want is supported for your ledger before paying: per-payout summaries do not reach Xero.

Connex is a workflow integrator sold on an annual contract with a paid implementation. It earns its price when you need inventory, customers and products flowing between channels and an ERP, not when you only need sales summarised. The $239 figure buyers quote belongs to Link My Books' top single-channel band, not to Connex.

DualEntry does not belong on this list, and its own site is clear about why: it is an ERP that replaces QuickBooks or Xero. Anyone asking whether it syncs Shopify into QuickBooks has already got the answer they need.

When a tool isn't enough

Every tool above assumes your sales arrive through a channel it knows and your ledger is one it supports. The cases that reach us are the ones where that is not true, or where the reconciliation rule is the business, not a setting.

A processor or channel nobody connects

A B2B portal, a regional marketplace, a bespoke subscription engine, or a payment processor with no connector. A build reads the API or the settlement file and posts summaries in the same per-payout shape A2X would, into whatever ledger you run.

Your reconciliation rule is not a toggle

Partial refunds against bundles, reserve releases, chargeback timing, multi-currency settlements at the bank's rate rather than the platform's. We encode the actual rule and hold anything ambiguous in a review queue instead of guessing.

Stripe at a volume where errors cost real hours

One e-commerce owner was spending fifteen hours a week reconciling Stripe against Xero by hand. A reconciliation agent now does the matching and flags only the exceptions.

The ledger is Sage, Business Central or an ERP

Where the destination is not QuickBooks Online or Xero, most of the tools above either stop or move to a quote-only tier. We build against Sage, Business Central, Infor and NetSuite directly, read-only where that is what the client wants.

Proof, not promises: 15 hours a week saved on Stripe reconciliation · Shopify integrations · Stripe integration · Sage integration

Not sure whether a tool or a build fits?

Thirty minutes with a Chartered Accountant who builds this software for a living. If one of the tools above is the right answer, we will say so.

How this page was put together

Every claim about a product was read on that vendor's own website or official documentation on 1 October 2026, and the page it came from is linked beside it. Review sites, blogs and our own memory were not used as sources. Where a vendor does not publish something, the table says “Not stated” rather than guessing.

Prices are the vendor's list prices on the date checked and change often; treat them as a starting point, not a quote. Fintask has no commercial relationship with any vendor on this page.

Re-checked against each vendor's site at least every six months. If you spot something out of date, tell us and we will fix it.

Questions people ask

Which tool is cheapest for a small Shopify store on Xero?

On list prices checked 01/10/2026, Link My Books starts at £15 or $20 a month for one channel at up to 15 orders, and A2X's Mini plan is $29 a month for up to 200 orders. Synder's Basic plan is $65 a month billed monthly or $52 billed yearly. Connex starts at $4,788 a year plus implementation and is built for a different scale of problem.

Do A2X and Link My Books do the same thing?

Broadly yes: both turn each payout into one summary entry that matches the bank deposit. A2X supports more ledgers (Sage, NetSuite) and more channels (PayPal, TikTok Shop). Link My Books supports Square, includes a UK VAT wizard and HMRC VAT files, and is cheaper at the bottom of the range. Neither posts individual orders.

Can Synder post per-payout summaries to Xero?

No, as of 01/10/2026. Synder's help centre says per-payout aggregation is available for Amazon, eBay, Shopify and Stripe and only to QuickBooks Online, Sage Intacct and NetSuite. Xero users on Synder can use per-transaction sync or daily and monthly summaries.

Is DualEntry a QuickBooks or Xero add-on?

No. DualEntry is a full ERP that migrates you off QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite, with implementation included and a 4 to 6 week go-live. Its site lists a Stripe integration but no Shopify, Amazon, eBay or Etsy integration, and pricing is by quote.

Which tools handle EU VAT and OSS?

A2X groups transactions by registered country, other EU and exports to support OSS reporting, but does not file returns. Link My Books handles UK VAT with a guided wizard and supports multiple VAT registrations, but says it is not a multi-country EU VAT engine and does not split OSS per country. Connex maps country and province tax codes including European VAT. Synder splits UK VAT on Stripe fees and applies tax codes for non-US businesses.

Does Fintask sell a Shopify or Amazon connector?

No. We build custom reconciliation and sync when one of the tools above does not fit: an unsupported channel or processor, a ledger like Sage or Business Central, or a reconciliation rule that is specific to the business. If A2X, Link My Books or Synder would do the job, we will say so.